Nominations are now open for Historic Motorsport Event of the Year 2014

The search is on… International Historic Motoring Awards 2014 open for entry

Nominations are now open for the fourth International Historic Motoring Awards (IHMA), in association with EFG private bank and Octane magazine.

Classic motoring and motorsport enthusiasts, and those working in the historic motoring or motorsport industry, are invited to make their nominations online at by October 1st, and play their part in highlighting the best of the best.

The Awards are firmly established as the most prestigious celebration of what is now a huge global industry, and of the dedication and immense wealth of specialist knowledge of the people and companies behind it. Previous winners have included the Louwman Museum, Goodwood Revival, Aston Martin Owners Club, Audi Tradition, the Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance, the Simeone Foundation Automotive Museum, Sir Stirling Moss, Lord Montagu of Beaulieu and Murray Walker OBE.

An award is only as credible as its judges, and the IHMA judging panel contains a remarkable line-up of well-known experts from museums and collections, major events, historic motor racing and the world of modern car design.

Scott George – Vice President of The Revs Institute for Automotive Research, President of CH Motorcars LLC, and associate Curator of the Collier Collection – Shiro Holly, Editor in Chief of Octane in Japan, and Dave Kinney – historic collector, vehicle appraiser and journalist for Automobile and the New York Times – have joined the panel this year, adding further expertise. Their fellow judges include Jay Leno, Derek Bell, car designers Ian Callum and Peter Stevens, Horst Brüning of FIVA, former World Sportscar Champion Jochen Mass and Dr. Franz-Josef Paefgen (responsible for the global coordination of the Volkswagen Group’s Classic activities).

There are 14 categories in IHMA 2014, showcasing the spread and diversity of the industry:

• Car of the Year
• Museum or Collection of the Year
• Restoration of the Year
• Specialist of the Year
• Publication of the Year
• Industry Supporter of the Year
• Club of the Year
• Rally of the Year
• Tour of the Year
• Race Series of the Year
• Motorsport Event of the Year
• Motoring Event of the Year
• Personal Achievement of the Year
• Lifetime Achievement

Rally of the Year and Tour of the Year are new individual categories, evolving from last year’s Rally or Tour of the Year category; the change reflects the range of such events now open to owners of historic cars.

Car of the Year is the one category decided by public vote, with motoring enthusiasts having their chance not only to nominate but also to vote online. Nominations for this category close on September 1st – a month earlier than for the other categories.

The winners of the International Historic Motoring Awards 2014 will be announced at a gala dinner in London on Thursday 20th November at the magnificent St Pancras Renaissance Hotel. Tickets for what is now an annual fixture on the international historic motoring calendar cost £180 per person. They can be bought via

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s