Tasman Trophy

NOVENBER 19-20 2016

 There were 30 races over the weekend featuring groups:

  • L, M and Formula Vee.
  • Group N
  • Group O and invited M
  • Formula Ford
  • Group S with a Second Driver Option in Race 14 (a 45 minute Endurance race)
  • Formula Junior
  • Regularity
  • Groups Q and R

The weekend went well with a small number of racing incidents. The weather was fine although at times very hot.

Highlights: Saturday

Race 1 L, M and Formula Vee was the first race of the day and the first two cars on the grid got away to a blistering start with Anthony Paynter in a 1971 Va Stag and David Cutts in a 1984 Vb Spectre setting the pace throughout the race. Their times were consistent times with Paynter setting a 1.56.06 and Cutts a 1.56.15 as they crossed the finish line. The rest of the field came over the line 18.01 seconds behind with Nigel Jones taking 3rd place in a Rennmax Mk2. David Cutts set the fastest lap of the race with a 1.55.7.

Race 2 Group N

Two Chevy. Camaros filled the front row of the grid with Paul Stubber in the 69 Camaro and Stephen Taitte in a 67 Camaro it was on from the start with the roar of V8’s echoing in the Grandstand, Paul Stubber lead all the way setting the fastest lap at 1.45.86 and finishing 8.8 seconds ahead of Stephen Taitte. Benjamin Wilkinson finished 3rd in the 67 Mustang. Wayne Rogerson in the Mazda RX 2 took it up to the V8’s as much a possible finishing 7th, in the end there is no substitute cc’s.

The second group N was a re-run of the first with Paul Stubber 1st , Stephen Taitte in 2nd place less than a second behind, Benjamin Wilkinson came 3rd. Wayne Rogerson had a better race and came 4th.

Race 5 Group S

Another good start to the race with Wayne Seabrook on pole with Richard Watts taking it up to Seabrook as they headed towards turn 1; Geoff Morgan had a slow start and was passed by Doug Barbour. Unfortunately the race was cut short with the safety car deployed on lap 2. The race was concluded on lap 3.

1st Wayne Seabrook 2nd Richard Watts 3rd Geoff Morgan

Highlights Sunday

Race 14 Group S and Invited Group T 45 minute Endurance Race

A large field for this race and the option of a driver change meant very competitive racing throughout the field, Wayne Seabrook in a 1976 Porsche Carrera (3.0) led all the way to the optional driver change and elected to stay in the car, Geoff Morgan in a 1975 Porsche 911 Carrera (2.7) followed him in a few seconds behind, his pit garage was further down pit lane it gave him enough advantage to change drivers with Simon Hogg taking over, Hogg was able to lead Seabrook out of the pits.

Hogg led the race until near the end when a small incident allowed Seabrook to retain the lead to the end of the race. Hogg came in second, he set the fastest lap of the race at 1.45.41, Richard Watts coming home 3rd.in a 1976 Porsche Carrera (3.0)

Race 17 Groups Q and R

A 22 car field started, Chris Farrell in a Spirit Honda ran away with this race leading by 27.5 seconds as he crossed the finish line ahead of Ian Buddery in a 1986 March 86C with Ray Studder finishing 3rd a further 6 seconds behind Buddery.

The field spread out into several groups during the race with some close racing, Andrew Kluver was the first of the large engine cars coming 4th in his 6 Ltr 1978 Lola T332 NF-1.

Race 20 Groups M & O, Formula Junior Div. 1 & F3 (Tasman Trophy)

33 cars started the race with 9 cars failing to finish. The racing was close throughout the race with Richard Carter in a 1967 Brabham BT 23B crossing the line 1st ahead of Chris Farrell driving a 1969 Brabham BT30 and Laurie Bennett in a 1969 Elfin 600 3rd. Chris Farrell recorded the fastest lap 1.36.39. Due to an incident late in the race at turn 2 the race finished under a full course yellow.

Race 21 Formula Ford

A field of 17 cars gave demonstration of very small racing cars that are quick and entertaining, Cameron Walters was 1st over the line in a 1986 Van Diemen RF8 with Mark Lowing 2.5 seconds behind in a Reynard 83FF and David Holland 3rd in a Swift DB-1 FF

For a full table of results you can check the Natsoft Results web site: natsoft.com.au

By: Alan Page